Bates Family Blog

Waiting for Kittens

Posted on: July 15, 2010

First, a quick update. I felt great when I posted yesterday, but after I got to work, my headache creeped back, until I felt awful again. I knew the T3 would knock me out, so I left work at 7:30 and took it as soon as I got home. I went right to bed at 8, and watched a little tv with Joe. Around 11:30 (I think?) Joe woke me up with 2 bowls of chicken noodle soup. What a guy! It helped quite a bit, and I fell right back to sleep. I woke up this morning feeling pretty good, and so far, so good. Today is my Friday, so I only have to get through one more day of work!

Now onto the excitement!

First, the backstory. Last fall, we took in a stray cat and named her Paisley. She was very small and so sweet, and never left our house until about 2 and a half months ago. I was painting the front door, and thought she was in the basement but the next day, we couldn’t find her anywhere. We kept looking, calling for her, placing food outside, but she never came back. We honestly assumed she was dead!
While we were in Chicago, Joe’s brother called us and asked when our cat came back. We said she hadn’t, and he said he had just let her inside. We didn’t believe him, but when he sent photo proof, it was definitely Paisley! When we got home, we realized that she is VERY pregnant! We are pretty sure she is going to give birth any time now. We are setting her up in the spare bedroom with a box and lots of towels, food, water and litter. I’ve never had an animal give birth before, so it’s pretty neat. I’ve already found a friend at work that is willing to take all of the kittens to have on their farm once they are old enough, so we aren’t too worried about finding homes for them. It’s pretty cool to feel Paisley’s belly, because the kittens are moving all over inside there. She has been laying around all day, getting lots of sleep so I wouldn’t be suprised if the kittens are born some time tonight.

Anyways, that’s our excitement for now and I’ll keep the blog updated with kitten news as it comes!

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

Archives