Bates Family Blog

Finally some relief!

Posted on: July 14, 2010

I mentioned yesterday that I had been having really bad headaches. I have a history of migraines, and used to take Imitrex or Treximet and they almost always went away. Of course now I am down to only Tylenol, and it wasn’t even touching my headaches.

It started over the weekend of 4th of July. I woke up Saturday morning with a really bad headache, which got progressivly worse. I drove into work, and barely made it there before I threw up. Now, I hadn’t had any morning sickness, and I knew it was from the headache. I went back to my parent’s cabin where I slept all day long. Sunday was pretty much a repeat…awful headache all day, it sort of went away for a few hours but came back worse.  I’ve had this awful headache since then. It might be nearly gone for a day, but it always comes back. Yesterday was the worst of it- I couldn’t do a single thing. I had gone to my mom’s house to drop some things off, and barely made it home. I was throwing up in our driveway, and then went straight to bed again. I called the nurse at my doctor’s office, and she wanted me to come in right away.
Last night, my head felt like it was literally going to explode, and I couldn’t find any relief. I was in tears, and finally fell asleep around midnight. I woke up this morning, got ready to go to the doctor’s office and then I started throwing up, and there was blood in it. I had planned on driving myself, but I knew there was no way I could even do it so Joe took me in to see the doctor. It was a super quick visit, and she prescribed me Tylenol with Coedine for my headaches and Zofran for my nauseau. Joe and I had a little breakfast while we waited for my scripts to be filled, and I took them in the car on the way home. I immediatly fell asleep in the car, and when we got home I rolled right into bed.

I got an hour and a half of sleep, and woke up feeling like a new person! Thank goodness! I can’t imagine going through even the rest of my first trimester feeling that way. I’m going to try taking the meds as little as possible, and hopefully since this migraine cycle is broken, I won’t need much more.

I feel like I can finally get back to my life! Dishes and laundry await…

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

Archives